Cleveland's Music Headliner

Cleveland Orchestra: Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony

SIBELIUS  Lemminkäinen’s Return

WALTON  Cello Concerto

SHOSTAKOVICH  Symphony No. 5

An apology or an act of defiance? Shostakovich composed his Fifth Symphony in 1937 after receiving an official reprimand from the Soviet Union, responding with one of the most powerful — and enigmatic — symphonies in the orchestral repertoire. Conductor Hannu Lintu pairs this with a sweeping tone poem by Sibelius and Walton’s virtuosic Cello Concerto, performed by Principal Cello Mark Kosower. 

Performing Artists

The Cleveland Orchestra
Hannu Lintu, conductor
Mark Kosower, cello
With the Kent Blossom Chamber Orchestra


Reserved pavilion seats are priced from $35 up to $105. General admission lawn tickets are priced at $25. Tix can be purchased online via the link below:


To learn more about Lawn Book Tickets or Cleveland Orchestra’s ‘Under 18s’ program: PLEASE VISIT THIS SITE!